How-to Guide for International Conferences!


My first conference in Malaysia, 2009.

Going on an AIESEC internship is not the only way to gain international experience and expand your network. You can also go to the conferences outside Canada! Did you know there are over 470 AIESEC conferences held every year all around the world?

I started my AIESEC experience with facilitating a youth conference in Malaysia during my internship in 2009. It was very inspiring to meet and work with AIESECers from different countries. Also this conference made me see and experience the international aspect of AIESEC as the “world’s largest student-run organization”. This year I also went to another international conference in Korea and experienced the same thing all over again!

So you might ask, how can I attend these conferences? Read on to find out!

Where to find International Conferences

  • Check out Classified – Conference And Events on MyAIESEC.net section for facilitator or delegate application!
  • Opportunities sections in AIESEC Canada and AIESEC International newsletters.
  • Search up AIESEC [insert the country of your interest] on Facebook and see if they have a Fan page. Their national/regional conferences are often advertised there!
  • Word of mouth… Ask around!

Things to Note:

  • Just like Canadian conferences, you will be responsible for all the travel cost and delegate fee. If you are attending the conference as a facilitator, the delegate fee is most likely waived.
  • Check out the eligibility requirement before you fill out an application form! Some conferences may require you to have some AIESEC experience; in case of International Congress, only LCPs and MC (Member Committee) members are eligible to attend.
  • For many of the conference facilitator positions, minimum of LC EB (executive board) experience is recommended. Some issue-based conferences (ex. AIESEC conferences focusing on HIV/AIDS or sustainability) may not. If unsure, contact the conference Organizing Committee and ask!
  • Remember one of the AIESEC values – Living Diversity. Be READY to share and learn other country’s situation and culture!
2 thoughts on “How-to Guide for International Conferences!

  1. Hello I am so happy I found your site, I really found
    you by accident, while I was looking on Aol
    for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a fantastic post and a
    all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read more, Please
    do keep up the fantastic jo.

Leave a Reply

